The Arboretum is a UW–Madison research and learning center under the oversight of the Vice Chancellor for Research (VCR). The Arboretum Director is responsible for providing leadership and implementing the mission and policies of the Arboretum. The Arboretum Committee is a standing governance committee appointed by the Chancellor in consultation with the VCR. The Arboretum Committee draws its membership from constituent groups and faculty/staff who have a stake in its diverse programs and operations. The Arboretum Committee advises the VCR and the Arboretum Director on procedures and policies regarding the use, management, and direction of Arboretum lands and facilities in order to facilitate the research, teaching, and education/outreach functions of the Arboretum in support of its overall mission.

2020–21 Arboretum Committee Members

Bret Shaw, committee chair, Life Sciences Communication

Ellen Damschen, Integrative Biology

Noah Feinstein, Curriculum and Instruction

Rhonda James, Campus Planning and Landscape Architecture, Facilities, Planning, and Management (FP&M)

Rick Lindroth, Entomology

Reba Luiken, academic staff representative, Horticulture, Allen Centennial Gardens Director

Susan Paskewitz, Entomology

Jon Pauli, Forest and Wildlife Ecology

Kris Ackerbauer, Physical Plant, Facilities, Planning, and Management (FP&M)

Tom Bresnahan, Arboretum staff representative, natural resource specialist

Laurie Elwell, Friends of the Arboretum representative, FOA board president

Gary Brown (non-voting), Lakeshore Nature Preserve Director

Cynthia Czajkowski (non-voting), Neuroscience, Associate Vice Chancellor for Research in the Biological Sciences

Karen Oberhauser (non-voting), Arboretum Director

Matthew Mitnick (non-voting), student representative