Friends of the Arboretum Announce 2016 Leopold Restoration Award Winners


This year, the Leopold Restoration Awards program bestows four awards that recognize the outstanding contributions of individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions to ecological restoration as researchers, educators, and practitioners. On October 6, 2016, these winners will be recognized at the Leopold Restoration Awards Banquet held at the Arboretum Visitor Center.

The Natural Heritage Land Trust will receive the Virginia M. Kline award for Community-Based Ecological Restoration

The NHLT has developed meaningful partnerships with a number of local individuals and organizations in its restoration work at the Westport Drumlin State Natural Area and Westport Drumlin Preserve. These partnerships have led to land acquisition, improvements for visitors, and significant contributions of volunteer time.

Read more about Natural Heritage Land Trust.

Rick Lange will receive the Henry C. Greene Award for Innovative Approaches in Restoration

As District Conservationist for the Natural Resources Conservation Service in the Driftless Area of Wisconsin, Mr. Lange coordinated popular tours of goat prairies that brought together private landowners, public officials, and technical experts. These tours succeeded in educating landowners about prairie flora and fauna, raising public awareness of the value of restored and remnant prairies, and promoting sound ecological practices.

Andrew Larsen will receive the John Nolen Award for Excellence in Ecology Restoration Practices

As Naturalist, Land Manager, and Executive Director of Riveredge Nature Center in Saukville, Wisconsin, Mr. Larsen was an avid hands-on restoration ecologist who oversaw 379 acres of restored forest, wetland, and prairie habitats. In addition, his books, newspaper columns, radio programs, and conferences shared his skills and insight with untold numbers.

Read more about River Edge Nature Center.

Joy Zedler will receive the John T. Curtis Award for Career Excellence in Ecological Restoration

Professor Zedler, Professor of Botany and Aldo Leopold Chair in Restoration Ecology at the University of Wisconsin – Madison has had a very successful research career. The large field experiments she constructed allow the testing of proposed restoration practices in actual restoration settings. Her research has contributed substantially to the practice and science of ecological restoration.

Learn more about Professor Zedler.

Named for the pioneering conservationist Aldo Leopold, the Leopold Restoration Awards recognize excellence in ecological restoration. Friends of the Arboretum, in partnership with the Aldo Leopold Foundation, administers this prestigious awards program. By recognizing and rewarding exemplary restoration ecology work, we hope to encourage others in this critical effort while supporting the Arboretum’s goals and activities.